People

Principle Investigator

Julie Zimmerman

Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, School of the Environment;
Professor in School of Engineering and Applied Science;
Professor in School of the Environment;
Deputy Director of the Center for Green Chemistry and Green Engineering

Editor-in-Chief Environmental Science and Technology
julie.zimmerman@yale.edu


PhD Students

Mark Falinski

PhD Candidate Environmental Engineering 
mark.falinski@yale.edu
Research Area: Safe and functional selection and design of functionalized carbon nanomaterials 


Camrynn “Cammie” Fausey

PhD Candidate Environmental Engineering;
NSF Graduate Research Fellow
camrynn.fausey@yale.edu
Research Area: Design of nano-enabled electrospun fibers for water decontamination


Mary Kate Mitchell Lane

PhD Candidate Environmental Engineering
NSF Graduate Research Fellow
marykate.mitchell@yale.edu
Research Area: Utilizing supercritical fluids as green solvents for size and shape control of nanoparticles


Holly Rudel

PhD Student Environmental Engineering
holly.rudel@yale.edu
Research Area: Metal oxide nanoparticles for use as selective adsorbents in water treatment
 


Yan Du

PhD Student Environmental Engineering
yan.du@yale.edu
Research Areas: Computational modeling; POPs in wastewater; life-cycle assessments


Andreas Backhaus

PhD Student Environmental Engineering
andreas.backhaus@yale.edu
Research Areas: Biomass valorization using supercritical fluids; nanoparticle shape control in supercritical fluid synthesis; environmental-economic data analysis and modeling


Tong Wang

PhD Candidate Environmental Engineering
tong.wang.tw493@yale.edu
Research Area: Modelling large-scale copper recycling to support transition to sustainable economy
 


Undergraduate Students

Orven Mallari

BS Environmental Engineering, 2021
orven.mallari@yale.edu
Research Area: Toxicity mechanism of nanoparticles based on size and shape
 


Melissa Ahrens-Viquez 

BS Environmental Engineering, 2022
melissa.ahrens-viquez@yale.edu
Research Area: Characterization of nanoparticles synthesized with supercritical fluids 

 



Visiting Students

Mengmeng Wang

PhD Candidate Environmental Engineering
School of Environment, Tsinghua University

mengmeng.wang@yale.edu
Research Area: Mechanochemical Technology for valuable metals recovery from spent Lithium-ion Batteries.


Research Staff

Hanno Erythropel

Research Scientist
hanno.erythropel@yale.edu
Research Areas: 

  • The role of sweeteners and flavorants in e-cigarette safety

  • Biodegradable materials

  • Utilizing renewable biomass to generate valuable chemical products


Alumni 

Lauren Pincus 

PhD School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, 2020
Laurenpincus1@gmail.com
Currently: Hess Postdoctoral Fellow at the Department of Geoscience at Princeton University

 


Eva Albalghiti 

BA Environmental Engineering, 2017
MESc Environmental Science, 2020

ealbalghiti@outlook.com
Currently: PhD Student at the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at University of Michigan
 


Qingshi Tu

Postdoctoral Associate, 2018
Qingshi.tu@ubc.ca
Currently: Assistant Professor at Department of Wood Science at University of British Columbia

 


Evelyn “Sale” Rhodes

MSc Environmental Science, 2017-2019
esrhodes8@gmail.com

Currently: Research and Program Associate at The Aquaya Institute
 


Amanda Lounsbury

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2017
Postdoctoral Associate, 2019

amandalo@mail.tau.ac.il
Currently: Post-doctoral researcher at Tel-Aviv University
 


Tamara deWinter

Postdoctoral Associate, 2019
dewinter.tam@gmail.com

 


Jamila Saifee Yamani

PhD Environmental Enginering, 2010-2015
jamila.yamani@gmail.com
Currently: Climate Impact Capital

 


Thomas Kwan

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2018
thomasalankwan@gmail.com
Currently: Sustainability and Green Engineering– Unilever

 


Ranran Wang

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2011-2016
ranran.wang@utwente.nl
Currently: Assistant Professor of Water Enginering & Management at University of Twente

 


Lindsay Soh

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2007-2013
sohl@lafayette.edu
Currently: Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Lafayette College

 


Weiwei Mo

Postdoctoral Associate, 2012-2014
weiwei.mo@unh.edu
Currently: Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at University of New Hampshire

 


Leanne Gilbertson

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2009-2014
leanne.gilbertson@pitt.edu
Currently: Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at University of Pittsburgh

 


Chun-Chi Chen

Research Scientist, 2012-2014
Currently: Green Energy and Environment Research Laboratories, Industrial Technology Research Institute

 



Matthew Eckelman

Postdoctoral Associate, 2010-2011
m.eckelman@northeastern.edu
Currently: Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Northeastern University

 


Fuzhan Nasiri

Postdoctoral Associate, 2009-2010
Research Scientist, 2010-2011

fuzhan.nasiri@concordia.edu
Currently: Associate Professor of Building, Civil, and Environmental Engineering at Concordia University
 


George Gachumi

Postdoctoral Associate, 2016
Currently: Postdoctoral Associate at University of Saskatchewan

 


Jonathan Mellor

Postdoctoral Associate, 2013-2014
jonathan.mellor@uconn.edu
Currently: Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at University of Connecticut 

 


Kira Matus

Senior Policy Analyst, 2010
kmatus@ust.hk
Currently: Associate Head and Associate Professor Division of Public Policy; Associate Professsor Division of Environment and Sustainability; Associate Professor Division of Social Science– The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
 



Laura Brentner

Postdoctoral Associate, 2009-2011
lbrentner@luc.edu
Currently: Lecturer at the Insitute of Environmental Sustainability at Loyola University of Chicago
 



Sarah Miller

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2006-2011
sarah.m.miller@yale.edu
Currently: Assistant Dean for Science and Engineering at Yale School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

 



Troy Savage

Yale Divinity School and Forestry and Environmental Studies, 2013
tsavage@mazzetti.com
Currently: Associate Project Manager– Mazzetti

 


Valerie Fuchs

Postdoctoral Associate, 2010-2011
Currently: Senior Water Resources Engineer– Brown and Caldwell

 


Patrick Foley

PhD Environmental Engineering, 2008-2011
patrick@p2science.com
Currently: Chief Scientific Officer– P2 Science